CALL US NOW 083-0802378 | +353-61-310328

Limerick Election Candidates Say No to Racism

On Wednesday 1st May, 24 local and European election candidates gathered at the Doras office in Limerick City centre to publicly denounce racism by signing the Anti-Racism Election Protocol 2019.

Seán McSweeney, Doras CEO said: “The elimination of racism from political discourse is something that Doras takes very seriously, and we would like to thank all of the candidates who made the effort today to show the public that they share these values. ”

The Anti-Racism Election Protocol, established in 2001, asks parties and candidates to agree to using appropriate language and images in campaign materials, and to condemn materials that may incite hatred or express prejudice.  The protocol was recently re-launched by the European Network Against Racism Ireland (ENAR Ireland), of which Doras is a member.

Shane O’Curry, Director ENAR Ireland said: “The Election Protocol has played an important role in elections since 2001, ensuring that elections are conducted in an unbiased and non-discriminatory manner.  In light of the global rise in racism and xenophobia, we hope that the protocol will help to keep this year’s elections free from racist discourse and hold Irish politicians to a higher standard.”

Doras continues to encourage both Local and European Election candidates to sign the Protocol to renew their commitment to anti-racism prior to this year’s elections on the 24th of May.

McSweeney added: “Following the recent misinformed and discriminatory comments made by Peter Casey against residents of Direct Provision, it is essential that parties, candidates and voters alike not only refrain from using this type of language, but openly condemn it. We urge all candidates for both Local and European Elections, including Mr Casey himself, to sign and adhere to this Protocol during their campaigns.

Full list of Limerick Candidates who have signed the protocol, as of 21/05/2019:

Sharon Benson, Sinn Féin, Limerick City North
Daniel Butler, Fine Gael, Limerick City West
Cllr Mary Cahillane, Solidarity, Limerick City North
Anne Cronin, Labour, Limerick City North
Cllr James Collins, Fianna Fáil, Limerick City West
Cllr John Costelloe, Sinn Féin, Limerick City North
Sunny Martins Duruagwu, Independent, Limerick City West
Julian Fitzgibbon, Aontú, Limerick City West
Seán Hartigan, Green Party, Limerick City East
Sarah Jane Hennelly, Social Democrats, Limerick City East
Eleanora Hogan, Fine Gael, Limerick City West
Cllr Marian Hurley, Fine Gael, Limerick City East
Billy Kelleher, Fianna Fáil, Ireland South
Cllr Paul Keller, Solidarity, Limerick City North
Brian Leddin, Green Party, Limerick City North
Cllr Joe Leddin, Labour, Limerick City West
John Loftus, Independent, Limerick City West
Seán Lynch, Fianna Fáil, Limerick City West
Breandán MacGabhann, Green Party, Limerick City East
Cllr Malachy McCreesh, Sinn Féin, Limerick City West
Eleanor McSherry, Fine Gael, Limerick City North
Cllr Jerry O’Dea, Fianna Fáil, Limerick City East
Conor O’Donoghue, Aontú, Newcastle West
Elisa O’Donovan, Social Democrats, Limerick City West
Pat O’Neill, Fianna Fáil, Limerick City North
Olivia O’Sullivan, Fine Gael, Limerick City North
Eddie Ryan, Fianna Fáil, Cappamore-Kilmallock
Michael Ryan, Aontú, Limerick City East
Conor Sheehan, Labour, Limerick City North
Seónaidh Ni Shíomóin, Solidarity, Limerick City West
Kieran Walsh, Social Democrats, Limerick City North